Greg; I Think You Have Been Misinformed. You Have Only 30 Days

wrongMy two cents;
Greg;  I Think You Have Been Misinformed.
You Have 30 Days

Florida law requires that you get a Florida drivers license within 30 days of becoming a resident of the state. You are a resident of Florida if you do any one of the following within Florida:
  • Enroll your children in a Florida public school
  • Accept employment
  • Register to Vote
  • File for a homestead exemption
  • Reside in Florida for more than six consecutive months
If you are driving in violation of the laws of your state ( including Florida )  it is highly unlikely that you would be covered by any Insurance Company.   Moreover, in view of the above, her Illinois drivers license would no longer be considered valid in Florida.
Does the city not check for a valid drivers license’s of  all employees who drive the city fleet ??

Kisela, Greg via
12:59 PM 9/29/13

to REALTORCOR, Ted, City
I am not sure what state issued her license. As long as she has a valid driver’s license she is covered by the City’s insurance.
Greg Kisela
City ManagerSent from my iPad

On Sep 27, 2013, at 6:34 PM, “” <> wrote:

may i ask what state her license is from and if still illinois what is the law on that as well as how does insurance for the city cover her not being a florida driver

thanks corey

One thought on “Greg; I Think You Have Been Misinformed. You Have Only 30 Days

  • September 30, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    Mr. Kisela,
    I don’t mean to insult anyones intelligence, but here is some information that all employees coming to work for the City from another State need to know.
    When you move to Florida and become a resident you have 10 days to register your out of state vehicle. You are considered a Florida resident when you place your children in public schools, become employed, or otherwise establish Florida residency.
    To register any vehicle in Florida you will need to show proof of Florida auto insurance – provided by a Florida agent.
    By Florida law, If you have a drivers license from another state you need to obtain a Florida drivers license within 30 days of establishing residency.
    Violation of any of these three provisions is a misdemeanor criminal offense.
    Perhaps this is something that Human Resources should be verifying on all City Employees after they have worked for the CIty 10 days!
    Scott Stiltner


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.